I understand the rule of not starting the round loping into the herd and I’m thinking this also means not loping back into the herd after you’ve pushed a cow through the gate. But what if you’re focused on and pushing a particular cow toward the gate and that cow decides to take off across the pen to get back with the herd. Are you allowed to lope then to try to cut him off? Or, is any version of a lope enough to get you disqualified? Thanks
Thanks for your question Kerry. Here is an answer from Dave Wolfe; The sorter cannot lope more than one stride at any time and that includes trying to cut off a cow crossing the pen whether in or in front of the herd.